HOME / Sports
Published on:

Former Detroit Red Wing Henrik Zetterberg, and Colleen Howe, the late wife of legendary Detroit Red Wing Gordie Howe, were inducted into the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame (MSHOF) at a ceremony on September 14. 

The event, held at MotorCity Casino’s SoundBoard, also welcomed eight other inductees from the sports world into the Class of 2023, joining renowned athletes such as Ty Cobb, Ted Lindsay, Willie Horton, and Jordyn Wieber. 

Zetterberg played his entire NHL career with the Detroit Red Wings, including serving as captain for his final six seasons, and lead the team to the 2008 Stanley Cup, when he also won the Conn Smythe Trophy for his playoff performance.

“Throughout my career, I was surrounded by amazing players,” Zetterberg said of his former Red Wings teammates during the ceremony. 

Known as “Mrs. Hockey,” Colleen Howe was a pioneering sports agent and manager, representing her husband, the legendary Gordie Howe (MSHOF Class of 1957) and her sons Mark (MSHOF Class of 2013) and Marty in their hockey and business interests. She was also one of the founders of the Detroit Junior Red Wings, the first Junior A team in the United States. Mrs. Howe passed away in 2009; her son Mark accepted the award on her behalf. 

Other inductees in the Class of 2023 were: 

•                     Richard “Rip” Hamilton, former Detroit Piston

•                     Ryan Miller, former Michigan State University hockey player

•                     Sierra Romero, four-time All-American softball player at the University of Michigan

•                     Lorenzo White, all-time leading rusher in Michigan State University football history

•                     LaMarr Woodley, former University of Michigan football player

•                     Rick Comley, former NCAA hockey coach

•                     Mike “Doc” Emrick, NHL play-by-play announcer

•                     Dawn Riley, the most honored woman in the history of United States sailboat racing

The Class was voted on by the public and the Hall of Fame’s Election Task Force, a Statewide Election Committee comprised of current and former journalists, sports executives, and representatives from smaller Sports Halls of Fame in Michigan. 

Mike Ilitch was inducted into the MSHOF in 2004, followed by Marian Ilitch in 2008.